Why Do We Ever Take Things for Granted?

17.03.2016

Why do we ever take things for granted?

Why do we allow ourselves to get used to something to the point of it no longer seeming exciting?

Why do we ever slip into a routine and allow ourselves to see life as mundane, simple, uninspiring?…

Life is such a twisted, mind-boggling, beautiful gift and yet we seek comfort. We earn for structure and security, when something exciting is right around the corner.

“2000km and two flights”- type around the corner for me…

As I sit in one of the busy cafes of Waterlooplein, taking in the Amsterdam rush hour, the hustle and bustle, the chaos of a busy neighborhood, the excitement that comes from the perspective of a fun, cocktail-infused Thursday night, sipping on my coffee, I can’t help but scold myself for ever taking this view and feeling for granted.

How, in the name of bullshit, could I ever not find the mere fact of living in one of the best cities in the world, astonishing? How could I ever opt for a quiet night in, when I had life’s greatest experiences in a couple of tram stops reach?

How in the hell, Sasha?

My journey is far from being over, yet right now I find myself feeling exactly where I need to be.

My beautiful Amsterdam, oh how I’ve missed you dearly.

I’ve missed the red and brown brick facades, the ever present smell of weed, the effortless chic of your inhabitants. I’ve missed your hospitality and your hostility, your life-loving vibe and your messy streets, your rare sunshines and your constant rain. I’ve missed all of you.

I’m ready for round two, or three or for however many rounds we’re bound to have. My cells are enriched with new energy, YOUR energy and, for the first time in the longest time, I feel truly inspired.

amsterdam-canals-beautiful-city-netherlands-belicovaa-wordpress-postcurfew-bewonderments-march-18-2016

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why Do We Ever Take Things for Granted?

  1. Anaventures says:

    My favourite European city…Sigh…I love it and MISS it so much!
    I love the post too, you’re so right, we take things for granted far too much in this life. We need to stop and smell the roses sometimes you know? Glad you’ve taken the time to slow down and feel inspired ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Alexandra says:

      I see you’re back to the blogging scene as well, Ana! So nice to see you back and stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ Currently trying to master up some words… It’s been a while for me as well.

      Like

      • Anaventures says:

        Thanks so much Alex! It’s nice to be noticed and wonderful to see your blog still going strong ๐Ÿ™‚
        It’s always hard when the words don’t feel like coming, but I’m looking forward to another post from you.

        Like

  2. Lady Dickson says:

    God I loved Amsterdam โค

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

