Girl on a bicycle (review + quotes)

I finally got my hands on this movie! And it was everything I imagined it to be…

goab

Paolo (Vincenzo Amato), an Italian who drives a Paris tour bus, has just proposed to his true love, the German stewardess, Greta (Nora Tschirner), when the young French beauty, Cécile (Louise Monot) pulls up beside his bus on her bicycle — and, in short order, Paolo, following some very bad advice from his friend, Derek (Paddy Considine), finds himself with a German fiancée, a French “wife”, two Australian children who call him “Papa”, and his life upside-down. (Source)

I watched the original version with English subtitles, but let me tell you: I’ve never been this comfortable watching a movie in 4 languages. There was Italian, German, French, English with a British accent, English with a French accent, English with an Italian accent… you get the point. IT WAS PERFECT!!!

Disclaimer: I am a sucker for chick-flicks. Just don’t think of me as a Nicholas Sparks kind a girl… God no. Funny fact though: the director of this movie is also the screenwriter of The Notebook… Yeah, I’m making a great impression. Nonetheless, this is a different kind of a generic rom-com… at least, I convinced myself that it is, so don’t judge me! If you agree with me on this, we’re gonna be best of friends.

Some people may say that it’s cheesy, lacks originality and is a poor representation of the European Union through the eyes of an American director, but in my opinion- it doesn’t matter. The story is charming, cute and quirky. The movie has wit, beautiful actors, stunning views of Paris and a bit of Munich, and allegedly French-Australian children, who strangely look rather Scandinavian… I guess Cécile has more explaining to do 🙂

I laughed at some quotes so loud, I had to write them down:

1) Italian men think that “fidelity” is the name of the woman who lives across the hall…

2) – My friends keep telling me Italian men are unfaithful…

– Some Italian men are like that… but the French are the same! Plus, some American presidents… professional golfers…

3) If Italians loved everyone they hit in a traffic accident, they’d have twice the population of China!

4) Well I don’t love you, but how do I know it? Yes, people tell each other they DON’T love each other all the time, when really they do. And that they DO love each other, when they really don’t!

5) Life is just a series of accidents. That’s all there is…

6) *Paolo on the phone*: What time does the plane land? Is it gonna be on time? … Bah, I know it’s a German airline… alright! Danke, danke…

If you’re feeling particularly cheesy, watch Girl on a bicycle 🙂 And p.s. Vincenzo Amato is my new man crush 🙂

And thank you to everyone who is following and reading this blog-> it’s a mish-mash and I am very inconsistent with it, but hey, you’re here and I’m here and the blog is still here! I noticed that I hit 100 followers, so I thank each of you and truly appreciate your readership!

This entry was posted in Humor, Humour, Quotes, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girl on a bicycle (review + quotes)

  1. janeybgood says:

    Ooh, I like the sound of this! Must check it out 🙂

    Like

Talk to me

