To Facebook or Not to Facebook?

life-without-social-media

We have a virtual life. We leave a digital footprint.

We have Facebook friends. We have followers…

We don’t talk, we chat. We don’t write letters, we tweet. We don’t take pictures, we take selfies.

Facebook, I love you and I hate you. The same goes for Instagram. This socially-acceptable-but-really-unhealthy threesome has to come to its inevitable end. Or at least, I hope that one day, I will be able to terminate our relationship. And to think, it all started so innocently.

For those people who are not in my friend list yet, but are still very kind to read this silly excuse for a blog, you should know that I come from an East-European country, hence my occasional writing mistakes. Facebook is still not as popular here as other platforms. I did not discover Facebook until 2011 when I had to move to Holland and study for my Bachelor’s. I did not need Facebook back home, mainly because we had similar websites, but also because I still had something similar to social skills and the ability to actually TALK to people. Only when I arrived in Holland, I realized that Facebook is a “must”. Yet still, in the beginning,  I was able to reduce my Facebook consumption to the bare minimum. Now… I am embarrassed to say that yesterday I shared a picture of a pair of socks I bought recently. (With owls on them, which is important.)

I was more successful in NOT joining Instagram. But, who am I kidding? Two of my dearest friends finally persuaded me to jump on the bandwagon. Talk about peer pressure… At least I am proud to say that I have never made a single picture with a typical duck-face and I don’t overuse hash tags. (Which btw, are completely ridiculous when used on Facebook) And what’s with all the mirror reflection selfies???

I don’t want to come across as an old lady, but seriously, do we need to share our every thought and every healthy kale salad we are about to “feast” on? Where are we going with this? At some point I stopped liking pages of movies on Facebook, solely because I am afraid that if, by some miracle, someone asks me on a date, there will be absolutely nothing to talk about!

I’ve told myself multiple times that as soon as I graduate, I will delete the shit out of all my social media accounts and try to actually live my life. But then I think about all the wonderful people I met and I worry that we will have difficulties staying in touch if I do so.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that BALANCE is everything. Facebook is genuinely great for staying in touch and “occasionally” cyber-stalking your ex. I really try being adequate on social media, but I guess we all have those moments when we check-in, tag a girlfriend and share a photo of a cheesecake. Because self-praise and attention disorder, that’s why!

Or maybe I’m just being bitter… again. Tell me what you think of social media. Do you like it or hate it? Do you think it has a positive or a negative impact?

P.S. Isn’t it ironic that I’m using Facebook to share this post? My point exactly…

This entry was posted in Humor, Humour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me

