The 14th

Image

Warning!

This post may or may not contain passive-aggressive jokes that will make you think of me as a bitter loser. Well… guilty as charged.

February the 14th. What is it about this date in particular that makes me wanna buy a tub of Ben&Jerry’s and sob throughout  another Ashton Kutcher movie? What is it about this damn holiday that makes all the singles feel particularly single? And why do we feel the pressure to be with someone for this day especially? You don’t have a Valentine?? Well take a time-out then and don’t spoil the romance for couples.

I remember elementary school where Valentine’s was a throat-cutting competition: the more cards you receive, the better. And I was actually quite successful in that sport. Granted, the majority of the cards were from girlfriends and not the opposite team…

Many people hate Valentine’s Day arguing that it has become so commercialized, that it lost its primary purpose. All these Hallmark cards with a very limited representation of what is the greatest feeling known to mankind… Flower and chocolate merchants can only smirk and count their money, secretly wishing to play main roles in the charade. And don’t even get me started on the topic of romantic comedies, because those people are clearly making fun of us.

And I get the confusion and the anger. To be honest, I turn into a mess around mid February. For instance, last year my status update on February 14th was: “Ice-cream, will you be my Valentine?” Uh, needy much?

Did you know that the celebrated Valentine (or Valentinus) was imprisoned because allegedly he was performing weddings for soldiers who were forbidden to marry?  Not to sound sappy, but isn’t that romantic? Chance of imprisonment did not stop him from spreading love. And that’s what we all have to do on this day.

I probably failed to get this point across, but I love Valentine’s Day. I love LOVE, in general. I think it is the most majestic feeling. And this is probably sleep-deprivation talking, but I am happy for all people in love, ready to give into the festivities of February the 14th. Even though I am single now, I have my family, my dog, my friends (home and abroad), my food and my new passion. Isn’t it enough to spread love?

Happy Valentine’s Day ❤

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The 14th

  1. Jenea says:

    Sashusea! I am so glad I discovered your blog (and a bit sad that it happened only today)..
    Your As I am reading your honest, quirky, funny and profound posts, I am learning about the new you, and I love you even more!

    Like

  2. tisfortea says:

    I love your perspective on Valentines day! A few years ago I posted a similar status about Chinese takeaway and a bottle of wine being my Valentine so I sympathise 🙂

    I hope you had a lovely v-day also, someone so sweet deserves some love being sent their way as well xx

    Like

  3. seaangel4444 says:

    I love this post! You are a great writer, my dear! Thanks also for stopping by The Chicago Files. I’ll be back to your blog very soon! Cher xo

    Like

Talk to me

