Preinstalled self-discipline

6f2j2303

How easy was it being a child?

And I’m not going to bore you or confuse myself even more by writing a complete and exhaustive answer on why exactly it was easy (even though it was, obviously). I will be rather specific.

You didn’t have to be interested in something. It would have been a big plus, but primarily, parents decided what you did in your free-off-school time. Your parents would simply take you to ballet classes (if you’re a girl), or football practice (if you’re a boy) and that was it. (It may have been the other way around. Whatever. We don’t endorse gender stereotypes.) Parents would structure your life, filling it with activities, and to you, it would seem like you are organized, disciplined, motivated even and most importantly, that you enjoy doing what you’re doing.

In my case (which may or may not be pretty common), all my activities were predetermined by my family. And I honestly did not mind to a certain point. My mother took me to dancing classes because she wanted to dance herself back in the day. I remember being asked on whether or not I want to dance, but I genuinely don’t remember having a strong opinion on that particular matter. I had my day, week, month planned out for me. I didn’t have to make decisions. And I liked dancing… or did I think I liked dancing because it became a habit?

I realized that my childhood discipline was a pre-installed discipline. I didn’t choose to be so organized, my family did. And I am grateful. I am very grateful that I had known that kind of discipline. I regret that I am not as organized as I was before.

Now it’s different. I have to be all responsible and grown-up; I have to think: “I am an adult now (or kinda). I think I may like photography. I should join a course and study the art, gradually becoming better and potentially succeeding…” I swear, when I was a kid, nothing similar ever crossed my mind.

To be rather blunt, self-discipline is a bitch, but it is a “must-have” in life. And I am not trying to sound like a pretentious twenty-something saying “back in the day” way too much (even though I do realize that I remind one). This is just the first portion of my pre-bed-time bewonderments and if I provoked a thought or two-> that’s the biggest achievement for me.

Thanks for your time.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Preinstalled self-discipline

  1. Jens says:

    Hi there,

    I thought I pick out an old blog of yours and comment. (I might bring back good or bad memories to you … who knows?)

    Your childhood obviously was so different to mine … the only thing I had to do was go to school and do my homework … the rest was up to me. I loved that feedom to be spontaneous and even today, I still love to be utterly undisciplined in my spare time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That may be a large number of certainly amongst the best weblogs I’ve truly seen indoors a long time on the net. Maintain inside amazing material.

    Like

Talk to me

